If a user leaves the company and their account is deleted, and/or their license is withdrawn, what happens with the business data in SharePoint Online and OneDrive for Business?
We've discussed how to deal with terminated users in Office 365 in a previous post. But when SharePoint Online and OneDrive for Business are the Source and Destination, it can present a new set of obstacles. What migration methods exist that can handle such a scenario?
First, here's an illustration that maps out the scenario:
For all team sites in SharePoint Online, the company has a storage of 10 GB + 500 MB for each user for free. Additional storage may be purchased.
In OneDrive for Business, each user with a license has 1 TB storage, and later on this year unlimited storage. The illustration shows that User A is a member of the Team Sites “Marketing” and “Support”. Additionally, User A also has shared folders and files with User B and C, but he is the owner.
The company does not have to pay for the the storage of OneDrive for Business. It is becoming increasingly popular to switch content to OneDrive without ultimately considering the consequences.
In our example, User A leaves the company. The administrator deletes User A in the Active Directory and/or withdraws the Office 365 license.
There is no problem with the two team sites because User A no longer exists. But in Office 365, there will be an automatic process initiated called “My Site Cleanup Job." Microsoft has more details on this at KB 3042522.
The short version: Microsoft has two recommendations for saving the users content.
A work or school account is deleted from the Microsoft Office 365 admin center or is removed through Active Directory synchronization.
The account deletion is synchronized to SharePoint Online.
The OneDrive Clean Up Job runs, and the user profile is marked for deletion. The user profile will be preserved in the database in a deleted state for 30 days by default. This coincides with the time that’s allocated to restore a deleted user account from the Azure Active Directory recycle bin. However, Microsoft has recently allowed the option to change retention policies for deleted OneDrive profiles. You can now set maximum retention of 3,650 days or the equivalent of ten years.
This can be done through the OneDrive admin center (here) or by using the -OrphanedPersonalSitesRetentionPeriod parameter for the Set-SPOTenant cmdlet in the SharePoint Online Management Shell. For more information on using the cmdlet, see Set-SPOTenant.
If the Manager field is populated for the deleted account, the manager will receive an email message that states that the site will be removed in X days and that access to the site is granted to the manager.
If the Manager field isn’t populated for the user account and a secondary owner was configured in Setup My Sites under the User Profile section of the SharePoint admin center, the secondary owner contact will receive an email message that states that the site will be removed in 30 days and that access to the site is granted to the user. The email will be as follows:
The My Site of xxxxxx is scheduled for deletion in 30 days. As their manager, you are now the temporary owner of their site. This temporary ownership gives you access to the site to copy any business-related information you might need. To access the site use this URL:https://xxxx.sharepoint.com/personal/xxxxxxx/_layouts/viewlsts.aspx  prior to the retention period expiring, a second email message will be sent to the manager or secondary owner that states that the site will be deleted in seven days.
After seven days, the profile for the deleted account is sent to the site collection recycle bin. This data will be kept there for 93 days. Please note, during this time managers or secondary owners will NOT be able to access shared content or data. If you wish to restore the data during this period of time the One Drive account will need to be restored through PowerShell.
It is important to remember that Microsoft is not using recommendation one as a permanent solution. The retention period options are provided to give the Manager or secondary user enough time to download the deleted user’s data to their own accounts before permanent deletion. This leads us to the process of how to move said data.
The admin must sync the data of the User A to his/her local machine (down) and then to the new User X (up). But you have to additionally look for the rights and permissions of the documents. This is not sufficient for a manual process. It is time-consuming and in no way ensures you will be able to capture all of User A’s data. But luckily there is a solution with BitTitan.
The MigrationWiz solution from BitTitan may migrate OneDrive for Business Data from any user in Office 365 to another user in Office 365, such as in our example above from User A to User X. MigrationWiz is capable of handling this scenario, in addition to several other more complicated and uncommon project types.
Learn more about how MigrationWiz handles migrating OneDrive data by reading the following article in our Knowledge Base: OneDrive for Business to OneDrive for Business Migration Guide
If you decide to migrate, you should read all sections carefully.
In the section MSPComplete Steps “How do I purchase licenses” it should be noted that this is a document migration, and will require a User Migration Bundle license. This license type handles multiple workloads in addition to documents. It also includes the following: mailbox, archives, and desktop configuration. The bundle license allows 10 passes per workload and has a 100GB data limit.
After you have migrated the data to the new user (X) and assigned him/her the rights to work in the “Marketing” and “Support” team sites, it looks like:
(Please note: MigrationWiz does not move data off the source server and onto the destination - the data will only be copied.)
Currently, manual migrations are too costly -- especially when multiple users leave the company, which indeed occurs but more common in large companies. The current limitations of the sync clients (Groove.exe) make it almost impossible to synchronize large amounts of data. A migration via MigrationWiz enables you to save time, money, and resources on projects of any size and allows quick access to your data during and after the migration.
To learn more about MigrationWiz, visit BitTitan's website.
If you have any questions you'd like answered, reach out today! Our BitTitan experts are here for you anytime.
BitTitan Webinars Presents: Top Tips for Office 365 Tenant to Tenant Migrations with Coexistence
Learn more about how MigrationWiz helps you support coexistence among Office 365 tenants during long-term projects today.
At BitTitan we've been empowering IT service professionals to successfully deploy and manage cloud technologies through automation for over a decade with MigrationWiz. Sign up for a FREE BitTitan account today to access our products and services.